Resisting the Seduction of a Fallen World, C.J. Mahaney

Worldliness: Resisting the Seduction of a Fallen World, by C.J. Mahaney is a book that I wholeheartedly recommend, as it is one which impacted my life and my way of thinking in great ways.

Worldliness as the opposite of godliness.

Demas, enslaved by the love of the world, had lost his love for God. The root issue is internal: cravings, lust, boasting. The dress, manner of speaking, music, etc. are all only evidences of the internal.

“The evil in our desires often lies not in what we want, but in the fact that we want it too much.” – David Powlison

Am I defined by what I have and what I’ve done or by who Christ is and what He’s done?

“Glorifying God is an intentional pursuit. We don’t accidentally drift into holiness; rather, we mature gradually and purposefully, one choice at a time.” – C.J. Mahaney

Coram Deo.

Grace – motivated obedience (Ephesians 5:1-14).

The holiness of God – “of purer eyes than to see evil and cannot look at wrong.” (Hebrews 1:13). Fool – one lacking in the fear of God. “Abstain from every form of evil.” (1 Thessalonians 5:22). What is beneficial? (Philippians 4:8).

“Gospel-centered living is grateful living.” – Craig Cabaniss

“If we can’t thank God with a clear conscience for a particular program or movie, we shouldn’t watch it.” – Craig Cabaniss

“Music with ungodly lyrics can persuade us to love things we wouldn’t ordinarily love- specifically the ‘desires of the flesh, and the desires of the eyes and pride in possessions.’ (1 John 2:16)” – Bob Kauflin

“Music and its associations don’t create sin in our hearts – they simply reveal what is already there.” – Bob Kauflin

Does my music lead me to love the Savior more or cause my affections for Christ to diminish? Does my music lead me to value an eternal perspective or influence me to adopt the mindset of this “present evil age”?

“All sin strikes at the holiness of God, the glory of God, the nature of God, the being of God, and the law of God.” – Thomas Brooks

“Grace doesn’t make things easy. But grace does make the hard things possible.” – Dave Harvey

“Godly men find modesty attractive.” – CJ Mahaney

Is my focus on my inner beauty and serving others or my body?

“God revealed Himself and daily discloses Himself in the whole workmanship of the universe. As a consequence, men cannot open their eyes without being compelled to see Him.” – John Calvin

Galatians 6:14 –  “For Paul, the cross was the singular, decisive, existence-altering reality of his life. No category of Paul’s existence remained untouched by Christ’s atoning death on his behalf. The cross reinterpreted his past, revealing his sinfulness and the futility of his efforts to earn God’s approval. The cross also defined his present. Now, for Paul, ‘to live is Christ’ (Philippians 1:21). Knowing Christ, pleasing Christ, serving Christ, glorifying Christ – Christ became the very meaning and purpose of Paul’s life. And, of course, the cross determined his future – if living is Christ, then ‘to die is gain’ (Philippians 1:21). All of Paul’s hopes and joys lay in Christ, and death simply brought these to their fullest realization. As a result, the cross was the crucial factor in defining Paul’s relationship with the world.” – Jeff Purswell.

Framework Theology Notes:
Position – The cross tells me who I am.
Perspective – the cross interprets the world I inhabit / transforms my view of people.
Performance – the cross gives me my life purpose.

Leave a Reply

