Whose Burden Am I Carrying?

Just today I wrote in my journal: I’m so sick of being melancholy, so sick of being held in bondage by the heaviness of my heart. This is a burden I am not meant to bear, for Your yoke is easy and Your burden is light. This burden I’m carrying is heavy, it is wearisome, it is not of You. Cast your burdens on the Lord, for He cares for You. Take this burden, Lord. I release the fingers that cling so tightly to the very burden that is smothering me beneath its weight. Why I think I am a better steward of the gifts You give, I know not, for I am nothing. But You, Lord, are good. Take this from me, give me the grace and humility to thrust You wholly. I want to walk in Your freedom and joy, in Your service and for Your glory.

Leave a Reply

