Midnight Miracle in Disguise

At 2:00 a.m. this morning, I embarked on what I planned to be a 10 hour journey to New York for a friend’s wedding. An hour later, I was pulled over on the side of the road after hitting a pothole and blowing not one, but two tires. In the process of changing the first tire and putting the (flat) dummy tire on, I also managed to break off one of the tire lug bolts. Thus, at 3:30 a.m., I was waiting for AAA’s towing service to arrive, answering a curious police officer’s questions about where I was coming from and where I was going, and pretty much hating my life. Dad came and picked me up, and we drove home for the night. There was no way I could have made it to the wedding on time, so I committed to spending this morning finding replacement rims for two of my wheels (yep, I bent the rims too!). We found rims and drove the hour up to Angola, where the mechanics had started working on my car early this morning. The mechanics managed to be able to straighten one rim, and quickly replaced the other. However, in replacing the broken lug nut, they discovered that my brake pads were practically bare. There was no way I would have had enough brake left to make it to New York and back without ripping the brake rotors up, thus saving me from potential accident and the enormous (seemingly) expense of fixing the rotors. Beyond this, it was a blessing to be served by a towing company which had printed on each of its trucks, “Trust God. Fear Nothing.” God is truly good – even when it seems like the worst turn of circumstances.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kelsey says:

    Wow Abby! I’m so glad the Lord protected you last night and that nothing worse happened. I’m sorry you couldn’t make it to NY though. That is really neat about the towing company. Such a good reminder for all of us!

Leave a Reply

