Rainbows

I spent all afternoon teaching riding lessons in an indoor arena, and when I walked out there was a brilliant full rainbow contrasted against dark clouds. The picture was taken from my phone, so its poor quality, but the sight was breathtaking.

As I drove away, “into the rainbow,” I was overwhelmed by the understanding of God’s love in His promises to us. The rainbow, as explained in Scripture, was God’s permanent symbol to Noah and the generations to follow of His promise to never flood the earth again. As I gazed on the rainbow this evening, the various promises of God in Scripture began to flow through my mind. “I will never leave you or forsake you.” “I will give you rest.” “There is no condemnation in Christ Jesus.” “I will heal and deliver you from your troubles.” “I will bind up the brokenhearted.” “Nothing can separate you from the love of Christ.” “I will give you wisdom.” “I am faithful.” There are so many more! The Bible is full of the promises of God to His children…yet I so often forget, and lean on my own understanding, rather than the Rock of my Salvation.

“For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from Him. He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken.” (Psalm 62:5-6)

Leave a Reply

