Fear Paralyzes

The devastating consequences of fear have often been underestimated as only affecting those who share the fear. However, we read in Scripture that when Israel went out to war, the men who were fearful were sent back. (Judges 7) This morning, as I was sleeping contentedly in bed, I was jolted awake by my eighty-pound dog jumping into my bed in complete terror of the first rumble of thunder of our early morning storm. Paralyzed by fear, she did not cause me to be afraid of the thunder, but her actions did affect my morning plans (of sleeping in). What a blessing it is that we do not need to be afraid, for the Lord is with us.

“Be strong and courageous…for the I, the Lord God, will never leave you or forsake you.”

(Joshua 1:5-6)

Leave a Reply

