Missionary Mindset

I’ve been spending much of my reading time lately on missionary biographies, and have been amazed over and over again at God’s faithfulness in their lives. It has been a blessing to read of the trials, hardships, and victories that each of these men and women endured, but also of their way of thinking of living.

“When I am gone, say nothing about William Carey–speak only about William Carey’s Savior.” –  William Carey, as quoted in William Carey: Obliged to Go by Janet and Geoff Benge

“I will open up central Africa to the gospel, or I will die in the attempt.” – David Livingstone as quoted in Rowland Bingham: Into Africa’s Interior by Janet and Geoff Benge

“I have nothing to offer…but blood, toil, tears, and sweat. We have before us an ordeal of the most grievous kind. We have before us many long months of struggle and suffering. You ask, what is our policy? It is to wage war against a monstrous tyranny, never surpassed in the dark, lamentable catalog of human crime. This is our policy. You ask, ‘What is our gain?’ I can answer in one word: victory.” – Winston Churchill as quoted in Rowland Bingham: Into Africa’s Interior by Janet and Geoff Benge

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kelsey says:

    Hey Abby,
    If you want to read any more of Janet and Geoff Benge’s books…we have all of them :). I haven’t read all the series, but the ones I have read have been very good! I recently read “Dr. Ida” by Ida Scudder (autobiography)…a missionary dr to India. That one was really good, if you have some spare time you should get that one. The library has it.
    Have a great day!!

  2. abigailsnyder says:

    Yes, I have also read Ida Scudder’s biography, as well as a few others. Thank you for the offer though!

Leave a Reply

