Quotes: Humility

“At every stage of our Christian development and in every sphere of our Christian discipleship, pride is the greatest enemy and humility our greatest friend.” – John Stott (as quoted in Humility: True Greatness by C.J. Mahaney, p. 29)

“God cannot bar with seeing his glory appropriated by the creature in even the smallest degree, so intolerable to him is the sacrilegious arrogance of those who, by praising themselves, obscure his glory as far as they can.” – John Calvin (as quoted in Humility: True Greatness by C.J. Mahaney, p. 33)

“There is only one thing I know of that crushes me to the ground and humiliates me to the dust, and that is to look at the Son of God, and especially contemplate the cross.

When I survey the wondrous cross

On which the Prince of Glory died,

My richest gain I count but loss

And pour contempt on all my pride

Nothing else can do it. When I see that I am a sinner…that nothing but the Son of God on the cross can save me, I’m humbled to the dust….Nothing but the cross can give us this spirit of humility.” – Martin Lloyd-Jones (as quoted in Humility: True Greatness by C.J. Mahaney, p. 66)

“Every time we look at the cross Christ seems to be saying to us, ‘I am here because of you. It is your sin I am bearing, your curse I am suffering, your debt I am paying, your death I am dying.’ Nothing in history or in the universe cuts us down to size like the cross. All of us have inflated views of ourselves, especially in self-righteousness, until we have visited a place called Calvary. It is there, at the foot of the cross, that we shrink to our true size.” – John Stott (as quoted in Humility: True Greatness by C.J. Mahaney, p. 67)

“Laughter is a divine gift to the human who is humble. A proud man cannot laugh because he must watch his dignity; he cannot give himself over to the rocking and rolling of his belly. But a poor and happy man laughs heartily because he gives no serious attention to his ego.” – Terry Lindvall, Surprised by Laughter: The Comic World of C.S. Lewis (as quoted in Humility: True Greatness by C.J. Mahaney, p. 94)

The use of the tongue “is the hinge on which the door into our soul swings open in order to reveal our spirit. In effect, our words are like so many media people rushing to file their reports on the condition of our soul.” – Sinclair Ferguson (as quoted in Humility: True Greatness by C.J. Mahaney, p. 120)

“In the darkest night of our soul, we have something to hold on to that Job never knew. We know Christ crucified. Christians have learned that when there seems to be no other evidence of God’s love, they cannot escape the cross.” – D.A. Carson (as quoted in Humility: True Greatness by C.J. Mahaney, p. 153)

Leave a Reply

