I Need a Hero

“I’m just a step away. I’m just a breath away from losing my faith today.” This song, crying out for a hero, has surprisingly become the echo of my heart in recent weeks. Where I had once been confident in my ability to maintain my Christian walk, I now see my overwhelming moment-by-moment need for the grace of God. This is evidenced by this morning’s post, which, full of inner turmoil clamoring for logical expression, in reality only reveals my inability to sort error from truth on my own. I believe it is one of Satan’s greatest priorities to mix the daily faith of a Christian with foolish self-dependence. When I fall into the error of believing I can do this on my own, even in my studies of Scripture, my pride has divorced the righteousness of living in faith from actually trusting in and depending on God. “I am just a man. I’m not superhuman. I need a hero to save me now!” “I’ve got a hero living in me. I need a hero to save my life. A hero’s going to save me just in time.” Whether I am eating or drinking, bicycling or playing volleyball, it is by the grace of God alone that I can give him glory. Without his grace I could spend all day every day reading my Bible and only investing time in a useless effort to manufacture religion where I’ve been called to love and obedience to a great God whose yoke is easy and whose burden is light. Lord, I thank you for being my hero and for your sustaining grace. May I never forget to take time to fall in love with you each day.

-Abigail

2 Corinthians 12:15

Leave a Reply

