Adventures

Adventures. My life is full of them. From battling through a spiritual roller coaster over the last month and finally finding myself letting go to fall into the arms of Christ, to the blonde moments of tipping the moped over on myself in my own driveway, things happen to me. I’ve never been one to take life easy and just “go with the flow.” I’m determined to be “different,” though occasionally that drive has led me into rebellion and sin. I’ve been told my independent spirit could be a good thing, if channeled properly, but I will be the first to tell you that such channeling is difficult. Yet I find in Scripture that God himself is the author of adventures. Beginning in Genesis 1, God created the heavens and the earth with his voice. He created me with a natural love and passion for life. Yet Scripture also gives direction for that passion. Psalm 31:23-24 — “Love the Lord, all you his saints! The Lord preserves the faithful but abundantly repays the one who acts in pride. Be strong, and let your heart take courage, all you who wait for the Lord!” 1 Peter 4:2, 6, 8a, 11b — “…Live for the rest of the time in the flesh no longer for human passions but for the will of God. For this is why the Gospel was preached even to those who are dead, that though judged in the flesh the way people are, they might live in the spirit the way God does. Above all, keep loving one another earnestly…in order that in everything God may be glorified through Jesus Christ. To him belong glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.” Thus, when I repeated Eric Liddell’s coach in saying, “[Bike] in God’s name and let the world stand back in wonder,” it was a reflection of my desire to use the gifts and talents God has given me to His glory. I did not, however, expect it to happen quite like it did. My plan was to ride 100 miles around Decatur as a part of the Flat 50 Plus, then to add the final 20 miles during the Indianapolis Nite Ride that evening. Twenty miles into my 100, I blew a tire. “Sweet,” I thought, “I’m right by the sag stop–what a blessing! I’ll get it fixed and be back on the road in no time.” Think again. It was a blessing that it happened right as I was getting ready to pull into the sag stop, however, I had blown not only the tube, but had taken out the sidewall of my tire as well. This called for the amazing assistance of the Flat 50 volunteer crew, who drove me back to the minivan with my extra tire inside it, then assisted me in replacing that tire and driving my bike to the next sag stop, where I might have a fighting chance of catching up with my parents on their tandem. A blessing indeed! I did not manage to catch Mom and Dad, already being about two hours behind schedule, but did meet Alexander and Erica, so joined them in the completion of their 50, or so I thought. Approximately five miles from the finish, I blew my tire a second time, this time while going 24 mph+, thus sending me careening into the grassy ditch. Another praise–grass! I called Dad who was already finished, and they came and picked me up so I could buy a second tube, and replace it yet again. 41 miles out of the intended 100. Oh well. God protected me through two blowouts, which, had they been in the wrong place or the wrong speed, could have seriously injured me. We made it to Indianapolis later that day, and the Nite ride went smoothly…despite insanely rough roads taken at high speed in the dark. It is always crazy to me how God works–that the time when you least expect to blow tires, they go, and then when it seems highly probable that you would, the tire stays full. Incredible. But my adventures for the week were not over yet. This morning, three horses went galloping down the road in front of our house. My horses. Loose. Without halters. Oh no. I discovered this morning that perhaps training for a triathlon might be a good idea. Then I would be in shape to run after my horses in muck boots. Or something like that. But what seemed hopeless once again showed God’s mercy, as all three horses ran down the road, made a few loops through neighbors’ yards, and then ran directly into the fenced pasture where I’ve been given permission to keep them. Praise the Lord for adventures great and small, and His faithfulness throughout.

Leave a Reply

