Don’t Be Robbed

“Don’t let the world steal your soul. Being a Christian is about choosing Jesus and deciding to do something incredibly daring with your life.” – Shane Claiborne, The Irresistible Revolution: Living as an Ordinary Radical

This quote was sent to me in a letter from a dear friend, accountability partner, and counselor at a Christian summer camp. Though exhausted from a grueling schedule and the emotional/spiritual drain of discipling 9-14 year old girls for several weeks at a time, this friend of mine took from her extremely limited personal time to write me a letter full of encouragement and challenge: to keep going, keep loving, and most of all, to keep living wholly for Christ. I praise the Lord for friends such as this!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. thesuburbanvagabond says:

    I love Shane Clairborne – he reminds me that no matter how much I get labeled as a radical, there’s always somebody willing to go further in following Jesus. I am praying that we in the american church will have the courage to become Ordinary Radicals for love!

  2. Jody says:

    Aw, what a wonderful friend! Yay for God giving those.

    (Shane Claiborne, hm? I’m not a fan of the Emergent movement… But I hear he says some good stuff – if you can fish it out of the postmodernism.)

  3. abigailsnyder says:

    Jody,
    I honestly know nothing about Shane Claiborne. I know I’m not a fan of the emergent movement (a good read is “Why I’m Not Emergent by DeYoung & Kluck), but as the quote as a stand-alone seemed good, I did not take time to further investigate the book or surrounding context. 😀

  4. Jody says:

    I thought the quotation was good. 🙂 I was just surprised that you quoted him. He does have some true things to say sometimes.

    (Thanks for the book title, I keep hearing that I should read that one!)

  5. icecreamqueen says:

    I read that Shane Claiborne book. Wouldn’t say it was a favorite. I think, like most books, it had some good, but also some pretty concerning stuff as far as his view of Scripture (particularly the Old Testament). My opinion…but it was a while ago I read it too. But, I agree the quote was good:) And, awesome friends are DEFINITELY good=D Oh, and, I second that Why We’re Not Emergent is a good read!

  6. nomadicroots says:

    No way, i’ve read two books that people are talking about. I don’t know if that should happen again.

Leave a Reply

