Proverbs 7

My son, keep my words and treasure up my commandments with you;  keep my commandments and live; keep my teaching as the apple of your eye;  bind them on your fingers; write them on the tablet of your heart.  Say to wisdom, “You are my sister,” and call insight your intimate friend,  to keep you from the forbidden woman, from the adulteress with her smooth words.
(Proverbs 7:1-5 ESV)
I have read this familiar chapter which describes the harlot’s snare laid for the man who lacks understanding hundreds of times. Until this morning, I considered it irrelevant to me, except perhaps as a warning to help guard my brothers in Christ. Opening my eyes, the Lord showed me how I too must seek wisdom in this area. Throughout the Old Testament, the Israelites are condemned for whoring after other gods. Rather than being untouchable by the harlot’s snare, I have been the simple one, trapped by the lusts for big trucks, fast cars, good grades, pop culture, and nearly everything else imaginable. Not wrong in and of themselves, these things have been turned into gods by my idol-creating heart (see Counterfeit Gods by Tim Keller) and become attractions on the pathway that leads to death, hell, and destruction. Lord, save me from myself! It is by my own pride that I have nearly become a casualty to the Proverbs 7 harlot, the same Devil that seeks to steal, kill, and destroy (1 Peter 5:9). It is by Your grace and mercy alone that you have opened my eyes to my sin, my idolatry, and my foolishness. Thank you Jesus.
Leave a Reply

