A Little Grumpiness…

As the saying goes, “a little leaven leaventh the whole lump.” Well, unfortunately, a little grumpiness can ruin an entire weekend too. I must admit that I didn’t start my weekend off very well by dropping my cell phone into the pool at work before 6:00 a.m. on Friday morning. From that point, I was on edge, allowing every little incident to interfere with my joy. Over the course of the day, I discovered that I had two textbooks to read within a week’s time, as well as multiple assignments due before Christmas. By time I got off work at 7:00 p.m., I was exhausted and ready to crash from physical tiredness and good old stress. Several hours later, I got in my car to drive home and the song playing on the radio was about trusting God, and giving Him the praise and glory through our lives. Immediately, I began weeping to the point where I could hardly see the road in front of me. I realized in that moment that part of the reason I was so grumpy, discontent, and stressed was because somewhere along the line I had stopped trusting God for good grades, money for school, etc., and started trying to do it all in my own strength—and I can’t do it. One of my very favorite verses is in Psalm 121, where the Psalmist says, “I lift mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.” Over the past week or so, I have been getting worn down with the relatively small pressures of school and work instead of lifting my eyes to the One who can lift me up. Psalm 28:7 says, “The Lord is my strength and my shield; in him my heart trusts, and I am helped; my heart exults, and with my song I give thanks to him.” Further, Isaiah 61:3, the very verse that I named this blog after, speaks of using a garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness. Scripture is clear that giving thanks is the cure for depression, and that praise is a natural result of trusting God. When I get grumpy about a little thing, it quickly ruins my entire day. Instead, I need to trust God that He is in control, praising Him for His continued grace in guiding my path even though I may not see the light at the end of the tunnel right now. The Lord is 100% good 100% of the time. To Him be the glory and honor and praise!

“I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come?  My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth.  He will not let your foot be moved; he who keeps you will not slumber.  Behold, he who keeps Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.  The LORD is your keeper; the LORD is your shade on your right hand.  The sun shall not strike you by day, nor the moon by night.  The LORD will keep you from all evil; he will keep your life.  The LORD will keep your going out and your coming in from this time forth and forevermore.”

(Psalm 121 ESV)

One Comment Add yours

  1. Michael says:

    Great thoughts. Convicting and timely. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

