Steps on the Journey

3,500 miles in a month marks the end of my four-week trip throughout the eastern United States. The Lord was gracious enough to allow me to travel to Florida and South Carolina to visit friends en route to school in Virginia. The first week was packed full of jumping lessons, time on the beach, ocean jet skiing, jumping off waterfalls, sliding down rock waterslides, and trail rides with friends. The next two weeks were spent in class at Liberty University, finishing up my final two “real” classes. This fall I student teach, and then graduate in December! Hardly a day goes by that I do not dream of returning to Papua New Guinea as a teacher, yet I know that I must be patient and live every day here to its fullest. God has been challenging me to get involved in my church here as a catalyst for spiritually-centered relationships and true worship. It is so exciting to see how God has brought people into my life to encourage and challenge me along this journey. While at Liberty, I met a guy who is a teacher in Thailand and widened my horizons to looking for a job overseas when I graduate in December, as well as meeting a couple of other kids interested in going to Malaysia, Israel, Ethiopia, and Papua New Guinea in missions. Sometimes it gets old seeing the “are you crazy!” look when you tell people your goal is to go to Papua New Guinea and teach, but it was extremely fun and encouraging to fellowship with other believers with a passion for missions. God is so good! The final week of my epic trip was spent as a counselor for a girls’ wilderness camp at Miracle Mountain Ranch. The girls built their own shelters that they slept in all week, learned fire-building and orienteering, and participated in incredible chapel messages presented by the MMR staff women. It was a fantastic week, and if I didn’t have to work and earn money for school, I would love to be a summer camp counselor for the entire summer.

It is exciting to know that God is faithfully leading me in each step on the journey to Papua New Guinea and beyond. I often have no idea what the next step ahead is, but I know that God is faithful and good, and I am only waiting in anticipation of where He leads me next, whether that be Thailand or Indonesia or anywhere else!

“For behold, he who forms the mountains and creates the wind, and declares to man what is his thought, who makes the morning darkness, and treads on the heights of the earth–the Lord, the God of hosts is his name!” – Amos 4:13

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

