Poems (5)

Two Miles…Different Worlds

 

Living in two different worlds,

You see the gangs, drugs, and death

That I only see on tv screens

Your father walking out,

My parents standing strong.

Your possessions being robbed,

My doors aren’t even locked.

Oh, we’re living in different worlds.

Living in two different worlds,

You have two homes, split apart,

My home and family staying tight.

You know jail and trouble’s real,

I find “trouble” in the minor things.

You are black, I am white,

City blocks, only miles separate

But we’re living in different worlds.

Living in two different worlds,

Maybe, just maybe it’s all the same,

Does it really have to be this way?

You have laughter, joy, and pain,

Me, I cry and celebrate too.

If we open our eyes to see,

We all have stories, listen now,

‘Cause we’re really in the same world.

By Abigail Snyder, 8/28/11

Leave a Reply

