Hallelujah, What a Savior!

“Hallelujah, what a Savior!” This should be the refrain of my life, yet I know that the words of my mouth and meditations of my heart are often far from these glorious notes. It is easy to question the promises and provision of God–even when He continually blesses me abundantly. Several weeks ago, I challenged my middle school small group to ask each other each day, “How have you seen God today?” It is a relevant question. Many times I go about my day rarely thinking of the workings of God. Yet God watches over me as I sleep and grants me new mercies every morning when I rise. When I drive to work, He allows me safe travels, then dispenses me with grace for my work, rest, and play each day. I take all these things for granted, only noting His presence and work when something extraordinary occurs.

I claim to believe that, as Hudson Taylor put it, “God’s work will never lack God’s supply.” I have been student teaching all semester without any consistent income, yet I have the finances necessary to cover all my needs and most of my wants. When I discovered that two unexpected classes would be required for my graduation, He graciously eliminated the costs of both classes. Even with all of this evidencing God’s unending provision for me, my unbelieving and deceitful heart still questions God.

With the decrease in my income, there is also a notable depletion in my giving. Previously, I took joy in sharing of my wealth with national and international friends serving as missionaries. The inability to pass on such gifts has left me discouraged and, indirectly, blaming God for His “failure” to provide. How untrue this is! The truth is that I really believed it was up to me to provide for my friends–I had to work hard enough and long enough to earn enough for my needs and their needs. God knew the fallacy of my thoughts and, in His wisdom, chose to show me exactly how unnecessary I am to His process of provision.

This morning in church, my pastor announced a list of missionaries the church leadership was considering supporting over the next year. Several months prior to this, they had assembled a list of missionaries’ names from church members. In the spur of the moment, I had scribbled a list of my friends, not even thinking about it afterwards. Today, as I listened to the announcement, the third name read was one of my friends. I hastily jotted the name down, excited that even one of the names I had submitted was being considered. My joy only turned to exuberance as I recognized name after name. My pen could not keep up as the pastor read eleven consecutive names from my original list. I was hardly able to stay seated. The exhilaration, admittedly, distracted me through the rest of the sermon. I was too busy praising God for providing what I, in my own strength, could not.

As I sat, or tried to sit, through the remainder of the service, the one phrase that echoed through my mind was, “Hallelujah, what a Savior!” At the time, I could not even remember the rest of the song–only the refrain that so brilliantly shadowed my own expressions of joy and praise. While this morning’s experience was exciting, I am challenged by my failure to rejoice in this manner when God does just as great of miracles in the ordinary events of my day. “Where did you see God today?” is a question that I too need to ask each day, realizing that its answer will probably be followed by uncontrollable exclamations of praise.

“Man of Sorrows!” what a name
For the Son of God, who came
Ruined sinners to reclaim.
Hallelujah! What a Savior!

Bearing shame and scoffing rude,
In my place condemned He stood;
Sealed my pardon with His blood.
Hallelujah! What a Savior!

Guilty, vile, and helpless we;
Spotless Lamb of God was He;
“Full atonement!” can it be?
Hallelujah! What a Savior!

Lifted up was He to die;
“It is finished!” was His cry;
Now in Heav’n exalted high.
Hallelujah! What a Savior!

When He comes, our glorious King,
All His ransomed home to bring,
Then anew His song we’ll sing:
Hallelujah! What a Savior!

                             – Philip P. Bliss (1875)

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jessica says:

    Wow! That is so neat 😀 God is *so* good 🙂 He really spoke to me through the sermon today…about being depressed and down…it seems there is WAY too much to do and not enough time to do it in. And then I read in Psalms today, “Why art thou cast down oh my soul?…hope in God…” 🙂 He has done much to encourage me today. ♥

Leave a Reply

