“I will be a light to you” by Joseph Alleine | Tolle Lege

From “I will be a light to you” by Joseph Alleine | Tolle Lege.

“The LORD God says to His people: My wisdom shall be your counselor. If any lacks wisdom, let him ask of Me, and it shall be given him (James 1:5). I will be your deliverer. When you are in darkness, I will be a light to you. I will make your way plain before you (Isaiah 48:19; 57:14).

You are short-sighted, but I will be eyes to you (Isaiah 52:6-7; 29:6). I will watch over you, to bring upon you all the good I have promised (Jeremiah 31:28 with 32:24), and to keep off all the evil you fear, or at least turn it into good (Psalm 91:10, 14; Jeremiah 24:5).

You shall have your food in its season and your medicine in its season; mercies, afflictions, and everything suitable, all in their season (Psalm 23:2-3; 1 Peter 1:6; Isaiah 27:7-9). I will outwit your enemies and make their oracles to speak but folly (Isaiah 19:11-15).

The old serpent shall not deceive you. I will acquaint you with his devices (2 Corinthians 2:11). The deceitful hearts you fear shall not undo you. I will reveal their wiles. I know how to deliver the godly out of temptation and to reserve the unjust to the day of judgement to be punished (2 Peter 2:9).

Trust in Me with all your hearts, and do not lean on your own understanding (Proverbs 3:5). I am God, who performs all things for you (Psalm 57:2).

I will forfeit the reputation of My wisdom if I do not make you to acknowledge, when you see the end of the Lord (James 5:11)– though at present you wonder at and do not understand the meaning of My proceedings– that all My works are in weight, in number, in time, and in order (Ecclesiastes 3:14); if I do not cause you to cry out, ‘Manifold are Thy works; in wisdom hast Thou made them all’ (Psalm 33:4; 104:24; 145:10).

My justice shall be your revenger and rewarder (2 Thessalonians 1:6; 2 Timothy 4:8). Fear not to approach; fury is not in Me (Isaiah 27:4). My justice is not only appeased towards you, but engaged for you.

Read more…

 

Leave a Reply

