Ordinary Man

If you’ve read my blog for any period of time, you at have noticed that Hudson Taylor is one of my heroes. I love to quote his saying that “God’s work done in God’s way never lacks God’s supply.” While I certainly believe that to be true, I recently rediscovered another quote: “God isn’t looking for people of great faith, but for individuals ready to follow Him.”

This idea aligns perfectly with my present state of mind: one of hoping and praying and wishing that I am doing the right thing, while seeing other desirable options pass by all because I have chosen to move to Papua New Guinea for a few years. That stretches my faith. I question if I’m doing the right thing, whether this is all a mistake, or if I’m just plain crazy.

It also reminds me of one of the comments made at Interim, a Bible study group I meet with on most Thursday nights. Just last week, as we were studying the genealogy of Jesus as written in Matthew, we explored the lives and stories of several of the people God chose to include. One of our conclusions was that God uses very ordinary and sinful people to accomplish His purposes in earth. This is a good thing.

I don’t know about you, but I am a very ordinary person (I know I’m weird, yes, but there is still nothing extraordinarily amazing about me). It it is relieving to know that I don’t have to be some super-spiritual, nearly sinless person to play a part in God’s grand plan for the salvation of the nations…because that’s not me. I am often short on faith and heavy on sin. But I serve a great Savior!

The last few weeks have certainly been faith-growing weeks. As I doubt, then return to the Scripture to find the truth of God’s promises towards me, He has sent visual reminders my way. Several times in the last two weeks, people have given sacrificially towards my support–people who I know could easily find very necessary uses for that money. It is an honor and oh so humbling to be the recipient of such sacrificial love. As an update, I am now at about 30% of the recommended support levels, of which I need to have 75% monthly pledged in order to purchase my ticket on the first of June. Another prayer request is that I need to get my visa processed and approved before that date as well in order to purchase the international ticket.

As I continue to see God do incredible things on my behalf, I am grateful to know that I can be counted with the Rahabs, the Jacobs, the Sarai’s, and the other sinners who God deemed to use for His purposes through His benevolent and extravagant grace.

Leave a Reply

