Wait, You’re Still Home?

“I thought you were leaving in July. What happened? Why are you still here?” Perhaps some of you are asking exactly that. For those of you who haven’t already heard, my plans to leave for Papua New Guinea were postponed, due to a lack of support and missing visa paperwork. All along, I had asked God to clearly direct my steps, and, as far as I’m concerned, no visa is kind of obvious! So, in acknowledgment that now is not God’s timing, my plans have been adjusted slightly.

The plan as of right now is to attend Pre-Field Orientation (PFO) in Sanford, Florida starting next Monday (June 25) through July 5. Then, in the fall, I will be a long-term substitute teacher at Carroll High School, once again teaching English 10. Sometime in December or early January, if the Lord so wills, I will fly to Papua New Guinea to pick up with the spring semester at Numonohoi Christian Academy. Right now, I wait. I wait for the Lord to provide. I wait for paperwork to finalize. I wait to purchase a ticket.

Sometimes I feel as if I’m in a period of limbo, of not really knowing where I belong. All spring, I presumed that I would be able to leave in July, but as July approaches and I’m still firmly planted in the United States, I feel almost out of place. I’ve made plans, I’ve found a job for the fall, I’ve even registered for multiple bicycling rides this summer and fall, but I still question when God’s timing will be. I think its human nature to want to know something for sure. I want to know for sure that I’m leaving in December. I want to know for sure that I’ll have sufficient support. I want to know for sure that the visa and other paperwork will work out. Yet, God has so much greater plans than I can even fathom, so I must wait.
In this time of waiting, I have also found it difficult to stay excited and passionate about life here and now. Probably partially because of the uncertainty and waiting. I completely believe that the Lord has me here now for a purpose and plan, but I don’t know if I’ve found it. I don’t feel as if I have a clear picture of what that is. As I look to Scripture, I think of the Israelites in the wilderness for forty years, waiting for God to allow them to enter the Promised Land. I think of Elijah waiting for God to send rain after the drought. I think of Joseph sitting in jail waiting for the cupbearer to remember him. I think of Paul crying out for God to remove a thorn in his flesh. The Lord often uses waiting to mold and shape his instruments into precision tools for His glory! But for someone who likes to do things, waiting is hard. I was reminded this morning that it is in the dry times, the droughts, and the valleys, that God prepares us, and transforms us for the journey ahead. If we didn’t train in the valley, we’ll never make it to the mountaintops.
I don’t want to ramble on, but I do want to share a few praises:
(1) A job for this fall! I am so excited to be able to have a long-term substitute teaching position at Carroll High School again this semester! The Lord continues to provide!
(2) An “explosion” of riding lesson students even though I have not advertised at all this year! (Again, God provides!)
(3) After re-mailing the first round of my visa paperwork, it was received in Papua New Guinea, allowing the process to move towards the next step!
Also, some prayer requests to keep in mind:
(1) The Lord’s timing and provision. I want to leave in His perfect timing, and when I do so…that will mean that He has provided the remaining $1715/month of support for me to be able to live in Papua New Guinea for two years. I know He is faithful–but the fervent prayers of His people are powerful too!
(2) The remainder of the visa / work permit paperwork would be completed smoothly
(3) Passion and purpose for the summer and fall months here in Indiana
Once again, if you are interested in receiving updates via e-mail, please send me an e-mail, comment on Facebook, or drop a note here on the blog with your e-mail address. Oftentimes what I post here to the blog is a summarized version of what I send out to people who have requested the e-mail updates, allowing those who read the blog only for pleasure to get the basics, but not necessarily all the details of financial support levels, travel plans, or even specific prayer requests.
I would love to hear from you–even if only to hear how you are doing and how I can pray for you!
-Abigail
Leave a Reply

