Staying Focused

At church this morning, both Tim and John spoke about influences. What voices in the cacophony around me are influencing me? Am I heeding the quiet voice of wisdom, or am I too caught up in what my friends, co-workers, teammates, etc. are thinking of me? I know the answer, whether I care to admit it or not. Scripture is clear that it is impossible to “serve two masters,” so why do I even try? I want to be “cool” and fit in–sometimes more than I want to be holy and set apart. 

Maybe that’s why I’ve spent all of March reading and re-reading 2 Peter.

“Therefore, …be diligent to be found… without spot or blemish, and at peace. …take care that you are not carried away with the error of lawless people and lose your own stability. But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.”

                                                                                            – 2 Peter 3:14, 17-18

Leave a Reply

