Ministry Update: Tickets and a Special Request

I have exciting news!!!! I have my tickets for Tanzania! And housing… I think! And…the opportunity to go to language school for the first month I’m there!

From my NTM Ministry blog:

It never ceases to amaze me how the Lord provides and works things out for His glory! As of today, I am officially Tanzania-bound. Despite still waiting to get my residential permit approved, I purchased my airline tickets! This is a huge and extremely exciting step!

In addition, my housing is nearly set, as a missionary family currently living in Dar es Salaam has made a small home on their property available to me for a relatively cheap rental fee. This is a huge blessing, as the rent will include electricity, security, and the availability of their house-worker one day per week to help with laundry and other duties. I am still hoping that another single female teacher is interested in sharing housing, so that I can split the rent (and have someone to live with!), but it is incredible how God has provided even this much!

A Special Request: Language School

Along with the extreme working-out of God’s provision in travel arrangements and housing, I have been given the opportunity to participate in a month of language school when I arrive to help me in the language-learning process. Though the school I will be teaching at is an English-speaking school, English is not widely spoken in Tanzania as a whole. Thus, in order for me to successfully build relationships within the community, I need to learn Swahili. One of my fellow NTM missionaries is teaching for the first month and has offered to allow me to take the course free of charge. However, the course is being offered in a different part of Tanzania, which would require me to spend approximately $235/week on room and board, as well as about $30 in travel costs. I would love to attend this language school–and have arranged my flights in order to be in Tanzania in time to do so. However, I need your help. With the cost of flights, furnishing my little home in Dar es Salaam, and the general set-up costs of moving to a new country, I am unsure as to whether I can wisely afford nearly $1,000 in learning the language, though it something that will surely prove extremely valuable to me. This is why I am asking your help in raising the $1,000 for the 100 hours of language training. Join me in prayer for God’s provision in this area, and please contact me if you would be willing or able to help me with this specific need.

Thank you so much for the many prayers and generous gifts that have brought me this far! I am so excited to continue in this journey with you as I celebrate what God has done!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Emily says:

    Hi, Abigail
    I couldn’t find an email address for you on here so i’ll post what I wanted to tell you here 🙂
    I wanted to let you know that have encouraged me greatly (emphasis on the greatly). I have a heart for missions, like you, and was especially encouraged by the post you wrote on leaving the prospective of marriage to serve in Tanzania. It made me respect you so much. Thank you for being bold and serving God. Thank you for proclaiming our Lord and not being afraid of following Him wherever He may send you.
    You are an amazing person and I am so excited for you.
    Rich blessings & love in Christ,
    Emily

Leave a Reply

