I Made It!

Its 11:13 p.m. here, so I’ll make this short and sweet:

I MADE IT TO DAR ES SALAAM, TANZANIA!!!!

All of my flights went well. My plethora of bags and bicycle made it. Customs was a breeze. That’s not to say the last twenty-five hours weren’t emotional. Leaving my family was crazy hard. Getting harassed by the security in Toronto made me angry. Sitting awake and feeling very alone somewhere over the Atlantic Ocean in the middle of the night. Sobbing silently while thinking of home. But don’t think it was all bad. Even the Psalmist, the man that Scripture says was a man after God’s own heart, felt alone sometimes. For years, the opening phrase of Psalm 121 has brought comfort when I felt lost or alone. This time was no different. As I approached the counter to get my boarding pass in Zurich, and then up to the customs officials here in Tanzania, and even out onto the sidewalk to look for my ride through Dar es Salaam, I found courage in remembering that He is the Lord who goes before me. And He does.

As a side note, if you ever get a chance, fly Swiss Air. Once I got to Zurich, everyone was extremely helpful in telling me where to go, getting me through security, printing out my boarding pass, etc. There’s lots of leg room on the plane, and the food is even good–the second meal was pizza and ice cream!

Flying over Africa
Flying over Africa

Thank you all soooo much for your prayers! I’ll try to take some photos and post them in the next few days.

Leave a Reply

