Exploring Iringa

As many of you know, I enjoy being outdoors. Being in Iringa offered a world of opportunities for hiking and exploration. Iringa is located in the southern half of Tanzania, and is a semi-arid mountainous region. There are a number of trails and footpaths surrounding River Valley Camp, which I was free to explore each afternoon following class.

Some highlights of my adventuring included hiking along the river to find a dam/waterfall and the accompanying water transport system used to move water from the river into nearby villages and down to the camp. It was just below this waterfall where I took my little motorcycle inner-tube and “rafted” some of the rapids in the river

. I also enjoyed making the trek to play volleyball with local expatriates and Tanzanians at a nearby dairy farm, as well as climbing onto a large rock outcropping on one of the nearby mountains.

Because pictures speak a thousand words, I’ll leave you with some pictures of the beautiful vistas that I enjoyed seeing over the last month in Iringa.

IMG_0720

IMG_0629

IMG_0530

IMG_0676

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

