First Day of School!

“The test of a good teacher is not how many questions he can ask his pupils that they will answer readily, but how many questions he inspires them to ask him which he finds it hard to answer.”

– Alice Wellington Robbins

Tomorrow is the first day of school at Haven of Peace Academy in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

Tomorrow is my first day teaching at Haven of Peace Academy in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

I have a few aspirations for this school year. I want to be an example of what it looks like to love God and love people. I want to give my students the tools necessary to pass their year-end exams, but even more, I want to equip them to evaluate the world around them in the context of worldview. I want them to know what they believe and why. 

As I prepare to start off this year, I’ve been thinking a lot about the idea of community. We have a lot of different words for it: community, tribe, culture. But in each of these, the idea is that there is something common and shared between individuals. If my classroom is to be one of community, I and my students must share something mutually. It can’t just be me spitting facts and information at passive listeners. I hope that this year, I can develop a culture of engagement, as I encourage students to be actively involved, to ask questions, to argue, disagree, and make this THEIR class. I want to discuss their views (positive or negative), their worldviews, their questions, and their lives. NOT just mine.

Let’s do this!

One Comment Add yours

  1. millerj70 says:

    I’m glad you have been able to perservere for the Kingdom up to this point. The devil is good at wearing us out and God is good at giving us life and strength. The Lord be praised because He is failthful even when we are faithless! May He continue to do a good work in and through you. Thank you for sharing your thoughts through this blog. They have been a real blessing to me. Grace and Peace

    Jesse

Leave a Reply

