Notable November Notes: 14

photo

Today has been a good day. I like Thursdays, with four classes of primary swim lessons in the morning, and just one IGCSE English class in the afternoon. Just being in the pool all morning is relaxing, even if it does involve using my diaphragm vigorously to talk over the hordes of excited children. Plus, I’m seeing progress in their swimming skills, which is fun. With a pretty huge teacher-student ratio, I had questioned how much students would actually improve, but they’re getting it. And they love swimming, which is the best part!

This afternoon, I have parent-teacher conferences for grade 11 and 12 students, which means I am missing secondary swim practice. But I was consoled by a gift waiting in my mailbox–an apple! I haven’t had an apple since arriving in Dar, as they are more expensive than more locally grown fruits (I think they are grown in Arusha, which is near Mount Kilimanjaro). I’m saving it for a snack tomorrow afternoon–what a treat!

Yesterday, I read Psalm 147, and today I went back and re-read verses 3-5:

He heals the brokenhearted
and binds up their wounds.
He determines the number of the stars;
he gives to all of them their names.
Great is our Lord, and abundant in power;
his understanding is beyond measure.

It is just incredible to me that the same God who counts and names (and created) the stars cares for me as an individual–to the point where he heals my broken heart and bandages my (many) injuries. Amazing.

As a side note on that, since God does bind up our wounds, be in prayer for my mom, who went in for her second surgery on her collarbone, to replace the current plate with a newer, more restrictive one. Pray that it heals well, that the plate “sets” properly, and that, in three months, when she has yet another surgery for the plate to be removed, that she has full range of motion (pain-free). There are also several dear friends who have lost family members in the last few weeks who are on my heart–pray that God heals their broken hearts in this time of pain and loss.

Sorry for the long note today!

Leave a Reply

