Notable November Notes: 28

IMG_1697

School is out for Thanksgiving break — at least that’s what I’m calling it. This is the first year HOPAC has had Thanksgiving off. Obviously, Thanksgiving is not an international holiday, but it is certainly nice to have a break. Not that I’ll be taking much of a break. Tomorrow, I’ll be celebrating Thanksgiving with several other families, and then packing to leave at 4 a.m. on Friday for the Moshi Sports Tournament with two busses of HOPAC secondary students. It will be a fun, albeit busy, weekend. But I’m thankful to have at least a bit of a break.

In other news, it poured rain today. And apparently, when it rains like that, flying termite creatures come out of the ground and swarm anything that is lit at night. The road was covered with them (I’m glad I wasn’t on my motorcycle or bicycle — it would have been painful!), the dukas and even my house were surrounded with them. It was a bit terrifying, until I learned that they were harmless. I’m definitely thankful for that.

And finally, the picture. Yes, it is modern art. No, I don’t really know what it is. So I supervise a “study hall” in the Art room for two periods on Wednesday afternoons every week. The study hall is for the A Level Art students, and so they are completely self-monitoring, allowing me time to complete marking, read, or whatever else I need to finish for the day. Today, there happened to be just one drop of red paint on the table where I was working. It was wet, left from the previous class, and I had this crazy desire to just stick my finger in it. So I did. And then I created… that. Perhaps I should write in big dark letters next to it, “Out, damn spot!” in tribute to Macbeth. Or perhaps I should just leave it as is, in tribute to the last time I “finger-painted,” probably close to twenty years ago. And yes, I think there is still some green finger paint on the ceiling of our kitchen at home from that incident. =D I’m thankful for good memories.

Leave a Reply

