Notable November Notes: 28

Thanksgiving in Tanzania
Thanksgiving in Tanzania

Unfortunately, this will be the last Notable November Note. I leave for the Moshi Sports Tournament at 4 a.m. tomorrow morning, and won’t have my laptop with me, and for some reason the WordPress app on my phone is completely useless and won’t let me edit or add anything on the site. Lame. But I’m sure being in Moshi coaching, photographing, watching the HOPAC students play volleyball, basketball, rugby, Ultimate Frisbee, football (soccer), and swimming will be an absolute blast!

As for today, its Thanksgiving, and even in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, we celebrated in typical American style: turkey and football. Okay, so I had to hit two different celebrations to get both, but you do whatcha gotta do. I even scored the game-ending touchdown!

And not to downplay the wonderful food, fellowship, and football, my favorite part of the day was after a 2-on-2 game of basketball when one of my students told me I was the first girl he’d ever had to work to get around; every time he went to shoot, my arms were there. He even thought I played in school. I’m pretty sure the last time I played basketball was the Carroll High School student vs. staff match for the last day before Christmas break. And the time before that was the previous year’s student vs. staff match. Clearly, I’m committed to the sport. I enjoy playing; its just not as fun as volleyball.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Happy, happy Thanksgiving Abby! That is so fun about the basketball :D Good job! Hugs!

    Jessica

    visit our blog: Seven Sisters visit our Etsy shop: Farmgirl Treasures

  2. aiketgate says:

    I’ll admit it: I have to disagree. Basketball is more enjoyable than volleyball. That said, they’re both enjoyable. 🙂 And I miss playing them. :/

    1. Abigail Snyder says:

      I miss playing basketball with you guys!!! I played this weekend with a bunch of my students and every time it reminds me of playing at the Ranch.

      1. aiketgate says:

        I don’t think I’ve played basketball since I left the Ranch, which is just depressing to think about. 😛

Leave a Reply

