Living LIFE 2014: January

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Photo courtesy of stock.xchng

Already, January is almost over. What is that about? But I’m not complaining, because my two youngest siblings are coming to visit me at the end of this month!

This afternoon, I was reflecting on my word for 2014: life. At that exact moment, I just happened to be sitting on the edge of a boat as we flew over the water, the wind blowing in my face, and the salt sticking to my skin. Can life get any better than that?

How precious is your steadfast love, O God!
The children of mankind take refuge in the shadow of your wings.
They feast on the abundance of your house,
and you give them drink from the river of your delights.
For with you is the fountain of LIFE;
in your light do we see light.
(Psalm 36:7-9)

Then, just a few minutes later, I launched myself backwards out of the boat, and descended about 12m into a glorious underwater world. Huge scuttlefish, bright colored starfish, christmas tree worms, lobsters, and a plethora of other creatures. Can God’s creative handiwork be any more evident?

O Lord, how manifold are your works!
In wisdom have you made them all;
the earth is full of your creatures.
Here is the sea, great and wide,
which teems with creatures innumerable,
living things both small and great…
I will sing to the Lord as long as I LIVE;
I will sing praise to my God while I have being.
(Psalm 104: 24-25, 33)

If every month this year is as full of life and joy as January has been so far, it is going to be an incredible year! And, thus far, it is looking good: hanging out with Hannah and Josh for two weeks in February, Mikumi and Zanzibar in February, Service Emphasis Week (SEW) in March, climbing Kilimanjaro in April, and home in June for a month. And that’s just the “big events.” I’m also hoping to visit Malawi, Kenya, and possibly a Masaai village at some point this year. I’d love to dive once a month, at least through June, so I can get my Advanced Open Water certification. And of course I’ll be playing volleyball, Ultimate Frisbee, basketball, and even some football (soccer). Oh, and cycling, riding the motorcycle, kiteboarding, SUPing, running with the puppy, underwater hockey (haven’t tried that yet, but I’ve been invited several times, and hope to go eventually), swimming, and just chilling at the beach. Life is good, my friends. I am blessed.

Leave a Reply

