Free Dive

Image from http://www.academyofscuba.com

Breathe in. Relax.

The waves wash around me, my body floating, drifting with the swells.

Exhale. All the way.

One last breath. Slow and easy.

Turning, diving down.

Kicking slowly, long fins propelling me down.

The wreck emerges from the murky turquoise waters.

Fish surround me. Yellow, orange, purple, silver.

My lungs ache for air, but I follow the hull of the sunken ship deeper.

A spotted ray darts past.

One last peek through the shattered windows into the darkness below

Turning, floating to the surface.

Light sparkles on the water above.

Oxygen, precious air fills my lungs again.

 

Leave a Reply

