HOPAC 2014-2015: Day One

Its a wrap. The first day of school is done and over. And all in all, it was far less chaotic than I expected. Maybe its because I’m getting better at planning with the advent of my fourth year of teaching, but I find that unlikely. In all reality, it is simply helpful to be starting a second year at the same school with some idea of how classes and schedules and such should flow. So despite overlooking a few copies, and constantly double-checking class schedules, and learning new names, it was a great start to the year.

A few things I’m looking forward to or excited about (or both!!) this year at HOPAC:

1. Grade 11 Homeroom

This year, I am one of four homeroom teachers for grade 11. We have 35 students in the class, sixteen of which are new to HOPAC this year. Having run the gauntlet of having no idea what the expected structure for homeroom should be last year, I brainstormed a plan for this year:

Mashup Monday – What did you do this weekend? Tell a story or show a photo… Prayer Requests and prayer for the class.

Truth Tuesday  Ask me any question.

Wisdom Wednesday – Readings from A Life Well Lived, by Tommy Nelson

Throwback Thursday – Just like homeroom used to be…a free-for-all

Happy Friday – Share a breakfast treat each week

I’m excited about getting know new students and reconnecting with students from last year. At the same time, I found myself missing students from this class who moved on at the end of last year, students who are now studying in Belgium, Arusha, Ireland, and Germany. I’m looking forward to reading through A Life Well Lived and instigating discussion on what it means to live well in 2014.

2. Teaching Familiar Material

I have to admit, I’m pretty thrilled to be teaching classes that are very similar to the ones I taught last year. There were points last year when I felt like the students had a better grasp of the end goal (exams) than I did. This year, I’ve been through it once, I know how the school calendar is designed, I have experienced exams, seen how last year’s students performed, and have lots of great ideas for improving my instruction the second time around. Instead of teaching twelve brand-new texts, I have nine repeated texts, and only three new ones. I’ve already created, been through, and now redesigned a curriculum for ninth grade Service Learning instead of starting completely from scratch. Its going to be a good year.

3. Young Life

Towards the end of last year, I started to be involved with the Young Life club at HOPAC. This year, I’m looking forward to once again being a part of Young Life, and the intentional discipling of students that accompanies being a Young Life leader. And besides, who doesn’t enjoy singing silly banana songs, having fun with teenagers, and sharing God’s stories?! Oh yeah, and getting photos with mongeese (is that the plural of mongoose?). 😉

1957982_10153833430920577_1668029473_n

I’m sure there are other things that I should be excited about, but those are the things that come to mind at the moment. I just know this is going to be an awesome year at HOPAC.

This is #LIFE2014.

Leave a Reply

