5 Questions

I could start complaining about how I hit snooze fifteen times this morning, or how changing the oil in my motorcycle became a TIA crisis, or how I really should be grading papers instead of reading all of the posts backpiling in my RSS reader, but that’s all rather irrelevant. After clicking through several links in a post by Yes and Yes, I discovered  “5 Questions to Discover Who You Are and What Will Make You Happy.” The title of the link intrigued me, as I feel confident in who I am, and generally believe that I lead a happy existence. But the questions were fun and interesting, so I thought I would answer them here.

1. What or who would you be if you knew you couldn’t fail?

While my bucket list is a mile long, there is nothing I’d rather be doing than what I’m doing already–teaching internationally. Maybe I’d change subjects, or maybe I’d just teaching English Literature alongside History, or maybe just P.E., but I absolutely love the opportunity I have as a teacher to invest in and inspire teens to be more than they ever dreamed possible–to be men and women of excellence. So I’ll teach for a couple years in Tanzania, and a few more back in Indiana, and then I might be off to Japan or Thailand or Bahrain or Venezuela, coupling my wanderlust with the global need for educators.

2. What is your Ninety-Second Personal Elevator Speech?

I’m an adventurer, a wayfarer, and a storyteller. I teach English not just so that students can interpret Shakespeare, but so that students too can become enthralled with adventures, the world, and it’s story. Our stories. And so I teach English with the goal of preparing youth to engage the world outside the enclaves of the classroom and to become men and women of excellence, seeking to instill students with a love of learning for learning’s sake. By inviting students to join me in this grand adventure of life and enabling them to communicate effectively and confidently, I am giving students the opportunity to reach beyond their horizons, chase their dreams, and change the world.

Oh yeah, and I love cycling and volleyball…but I’ll give almost any sport a try! 😉

3. What are your core personal values?

A.W. Tozer once said that the most important thing about a man is his belief in God. My faith is central to who I am, and my life’s motto is to love God and love people. Living with a passionate and an upbeat, fun-loving approach is important. I want to be true to myself and build confidence and trust with others by living honestly and openly. I value close friendships, but also the freedom to be independent. When opportunity presents itself, carpe diem.

4. What makes you genuinely happy?

Walking the beach at sunrise, flying over smooth roads on a bicycle, and exploring new places. Conversations with good friends, students that “get it,” and music that makes my heart soar. Setting the perfect ball, scoring a big block, and helping others succeed.

I want to live a beautiful story, to treasure experience over stuff, and dare to seize opportunities. I want to love God, love people, and revel in this wonderful thing we call life.

5. If money were no object, how would you live your life differently?

I would travel somewhere new every chance I had, and always take a friend along for the adventure…

I would gather a group of students/youth to play volleyball or cycle or surf or ski/snowboard on the weekends (and provide equipment/transportation/food for the day)…

I would drink Red Bull every day instead of just two or three times a week… =D

All that being said, I admit that I did not spend much time or thought in answering these questions. They were answered in a state of extreme exhaustion and high-caffeine consumption. Enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

