Faces

IMG_4986

I’ve been looking around at the faces in all the places
Now I’m thinking we’re not so different despite our races
All of us be masking varied insecurities
Hiding who we are, scared of our impurities
Perceived imperfections force up the walls
Hurting and broken, we build barriers tall
Push people away, faking it till we make it
better to not love at all than to get hurt. Or is it?
If you and me are both insecure, broken, and scared
Then wouldn’t it be better if together our souls we bared?

What if we all tore down our defenses?
What if we weren’t afraid to be real?

Thinking what if they don’t accept me?
If I’m too fat won’t everybody hate me?
Or maybe feet too big or crooked nose?
Afraid I’m far too boring to ever get a rose.
But those secret thoughts I’ll never share
Instead I smile, though inside I’m bare
Left empty, alone, hopeless because I let no one in
I fake it till I make it, smothering the inner din
But you and me we aren’t so different
Masks we both wear, broken and bent

What if we all tore down our defenses?
What if we weren’t afraid to be real?

Leave a Reply

