Standing on the Promises

I distinctly remember sitting at my piano pounding out the hymn “Standing on the Promises” as tears clouded my vision and emotion throbbed through my fingers onto the keys. I remember trudging up Pike’s Peak, a stubborn determination pushing me forward, a 103 fever dragging me down, and the words of Psalm 121 and Isaiah 40 fueling my effort. Thoughts of indeterminately lame horses, unforeseen expenses, and abstract illnesses are coupled with memories of desperate recitations of various promises of God.

On Sunday, Pastor Ron at Pathway Community Church began a series of sermons on the promises of God by sharing his wife’s example of walking through the fires of pain, sickness, and fear with a stack of 3×5 notecards at her side. On each notecard, there were verses highlighting God’s promises. Sitting in my seat and listening to her testimony, I meditated on the times where God’s promises have borne me through.

In each circumstance of my life, God is faithful. Though I may be haunted by fear and stumbling blindly forward, God has not and will not forsake me. Over the past several years, several passages stand out as being frequented places of refuge in the storms.

2 Corinthians 12:9
“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

Psalm 121:1-2
“I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth.”

Psalm 119:68
“You are good and do good; teach me your statutes. “

Isaiah 40:28-31
“Have you not known? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength. Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.”

Joshua 1:5
“No man shall be able to stand before you all the days of your life. Just as I was with Moses, so I will be with you. I will not leave you or forsake you.”

It is only in the promises of God that we are able to stand firm amidst the storms of life, for as another great hymn writer put it, “My Anchor Holds!”

Leave a Reply

